Dean's Luncheon - Los Angeles

June 2, 2010

Over 80 alumni and friends in the Los Angeles area attended the HLSA of Southern California’s Luncheon with Dean Minow.  The event was graciously sponsored and hosted by O’Melveny & Myers, LLP.  Attendees were welcomed by Scott Kolbrenner ’95, President of the HLSA of Southern California, and Mark Easton ’92, a partner at O’Melveny & Myers, LLP.

Dean Martha Minow addressed attendees and provided examples of how this is an electrifying time in the legal profession.  She discussed the nomination of her friend Elena Kagan '86 to the US Supreme Court and provided updates on HLS including the increase to the financial aid budget, the expansion of clinical programs and her continued dedication to making the public service sector an affordable route for graduates.

Dean Minow continued the conversation by stating that HLS is a leading incubator of ideas for addressing big challenges such as fiscal/financial regulatory reform, the search for new environmental and energy policy and the shaping of cyber law and intellectual property law on the digital frontier.  Several new faculty appointments were announced including Annette Gordon-Reed ’84, an award-winning historian; Mark Wu, who has extensive experience in international intellectual property and trade; and Grainne de Burca, a leading expert in European Union Law, European human rights law, and European and transnational governance.

The audience learned more about several students currently involved in cutting-edge projects.  A few of these projects include keeping tenants in their homes during foreclosures of residential properties, filing important briefs in major international human rights cases, shaping new environmental policies, fighting for good educational opportunities for children who have been affected by trauma or other disadvantages.

Dean Minow welcomes feedback and questions from alumni and can be reached at

Luncheon Slideshow

View Photos from the Luncheon

Last modified: February 27, 2015

© 2015 The President and Fellows of Harvard College. All rights reserved.