library main nav Image3

Deans of Harvard Law School

1870-1895Christopher Columbus Langdell
1895-1910James Barr Ames
1910-1915Ezra Ripley Thayer (died September 14, 1915)
1915-1916Austin Wakeman Scott, Acting Dean
1916-1936Roscoe Pound
1937-1946*James McCauley Landis
1946-1967Erwin Nathaniel Griswold (left to become Solicitor General of the United States)
1967-1968Andrew James Casner, Acting Dean
1968-1971Derek Curtis Bok (left to become President of Harvard University)
1971Albert Martin Sacks, Acting Dean
1971-1981Albert Martin Sacks
1981-1989James Vorenberg
1989-2003Robert C. Clark
2003-2009Elena Kagan (left to become Solicitor General of the United States)
2009-Martha L. Minow
*Edmund Morris Morgan, Acting Dean from January, 1942 to December, 1944 during which time James McCauley Landis was the national director of the United States Office of Civilian Defense.

© 2015 The President and Fellows of Harvard College. All rights reserved.