Skip to Main Content
Virtual Desktop is a remote desktop solution available to all HLS users from any computer with internet access. Logging onto Virtual Desktop will allow HLS users access to all the HLS applications and network data they would have from their office computer.
Virtual Desktop is accessible through a program known as Remote Desktop Connection that comes standard with Windows-based computers and is available download on Macintosh computers. The connection is encrypted and provides a secure way for users to work from anywhere.
Virtual Desktop does not require logging into the VPN, and provides greater access to the network applications needed to effectively work remotely.
There are multiple reasons why users will want to use Virtual Desktop:
When you log into Virtual Desktop, you will only have access to the network resources and applications that you have rights to. You will not see any applications that you do not have permissions to.
Please note: not all the applications used at HLS are available on Virtual Desktop. If you need access to an application that is not on Virtual Desktop, please have your manager contact the Help Desk to discuss.
Important Notes about Using Virtual Desktop:
Requirements for Using Virtual Desktop:
What You Can See on the Network Using Virtual Desktop:
When using Virtual Desktop, you can see the same network drives that you can see on your office computer. To see available drives and access them, please go to Start -> Computer.
Adding Printers When Using Virtual Desktop:
Because of security concerns, you can only print to a network printer on the HLS Campus. If you want to print, you will first need to connect a printer. To do this:
1. Click on the Start menu, choose All Programs and then Printers
2. Click the folder for the building where the printer resides
3. Click on any printer you wish to add and it will be added
When you go to print from a document, make sure the printer you’ve added is selected in the drop down, as you can have several added. Printers will be uninstalled upon logout.
Back to Top