Past Event

Worldwide Alumni Congress

Past event held: June 14-17, 2007

Program Held in Washington, D.C.

Thursday, June 14, 2007

HLSA Committee Meetings
(Alumnae, Black Alumni)

Elena Kagan '86, Dean of the Faculty of Law

Plenary Session – The Progeny of Pericles – Democracy and the Continuing Battle for Free and Fair Elections

Jed Shugerman, Assistant Professor of Law, HLS, Chair

Ronald A. Klain ’87, Executive Vice President and General Counsel, Revolution LLC; former Chief of Staff, Vice President Al Gore; General Counsel for the Gore-Lieberman Recount Committee

John S. Gardner ’95, Former General Counsel of USAID

Charles H. Ogletree ’78, Jesse Climenko Professor of Law; Director, Charles Hamilton Houston Institute for Race and Justice

Ana Maria Salazar ’89, Columnist, El Universal, El Informador, El Imparcial, and La Opinion; Anchor, Imagen News, Mexico Today; TV host, Seguridad Total; CEO, Grupo Salazar; former U.S. Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense, Drug Enforcement Policy and Support

Stuart Eizenstat '67, Partner, Covington & Burling LLP

A Tribute to our Elected Officials

Twilight Dinner Cruise aboard the luxury yacht Odyssey
With HLS Summer Associates and Recent Graduates

Friday, June 15, 2007

Continental Breakfast

A Conversation with the Dean
Elena Kagan '86,
Charles Hamilton Houston Professor of Law and Dean of the Faculty of Law

"Two Invisible Constitutions, One Vanishing Attorney General, and the Future of the Republic"
Laurence H. Tribe '66
, Carl M. Loeb University Professor

Concurrent Sessions

The Profession under Fire
David B. Wilkins ’80, Kirkland & Ellis Professor of Law; Director, Program on the Legal Profession, Chair
Neil L. Chayet ’63, Chayet Communications Group; Host, Looking at the Law
Brackett B. Denniston, III ’73, Senior Vice President and General Counsel, GE
James F. Flug '63, Lecturer on Law and Covington & Burling Distinguished Visitor, HLS, 2006-07; former Chief Counsel to Senator Edward M. Kennedy
Lena G. Goldberg ’78, Executive Vice President (and former General Counsel) FMR Corp./Fidelity Investments .
Hon. Jack B. Jacobs ’67, Supreme Court of Delaware
Walter A. Looney, Jr. ’77, Partner, Simpson Thacher Bartlett LLP
Theodore V. Wells, Jr., ’76, Partner, Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP

The International Economy: Trade, Development and the Future
William P. Alford ’ 77, Vice Dean for the Graduate Program and International Legal Studies; Henry L. Stimson Professor of Law; Director, East Asian Legal Studies Program, Co-Chair
Rachel Brewster, Assistant Professor of Law, Co-Chair
Don I. Baker '61, Senior Partner, Baker & Miller PLLC
Roberto Dañino ’75, former Prime Minister of Peru; former Senior Vice President and General Counsel of The World Bank
James H. Lambright ’96, Chairman & President, Export-Import Bank of the United States
Timothy P. Stratford ’81, Assistant U.S. Trade Representative for China
Alice Young ’74, Partner and Chair, Asia Pacific Practice, Kaye Scholer LLP
Stuart Eizenstat ’67, Partner, Covington & Burling LLP
Claire E. Reade '79, Chief Counsel for China Trade Enforcement, USTR

Harvard Law School Association Award Luncheon
Honoree: Olara A. Otunnu ’78, President, LBL Foundation for Children; World’s Children’s Ombudsman; Former Under-Secretary-General, United Nations
Transcript of speech (PDF)

Concurrent Sessions

The Competitiveness of U.S. Capital Markets
Paul S. Sarbanes ’60, former United States Senator (MD) Co-Chair
Hal S. Scott, Nomura Professor of International Financial Systems; Director, Program on International Financial Systems, HLS, Co-Chair
Suzanne Nora Johnson ’82, Vice Chairman, Goldman Sachs
Lewis B. Kaden ’67, Vice Chairman and Chief Administrative Officer, Citigroup Inc.
Damon A. Silvers '96, Associate General Counsel, AFL-CIO

Environmental Protection: Climate and Beyond

Jody L. Freeman LLM ’92, SJD ’95, Professor of law, HLS, Chair
Richard J. Lazarus ’79, Professor of Law, Georgetown Law
John D. Leshy '69, Harry D. Sunderland Distinguished Professor of Law University of California, Hastings College of the Law
Paul S. Weiland ’99, Partner, Nossaman Guthner Knox Elliott LLP

New Directions in International Law and Practice: Cyber Censorship and Human Rights
John G. Palfrey, Jr. ’01, Executive Director, Berkman Center for Internet and Society; Clinical Professor of Law, Chair
James L. Cavallaro, Executive Director, Human Rights Program; Clinical Professor of Law
Urs Gasser ’03, Associate Professor, University of St. Gallen (Switzerland); Berkman Center Fellow

Plenary Session
From Sica to Hard Drive to Missile – Modern Terrorism and its Impact upon the Rule of Law
Jane Lakes Harman ’69, United States House of Representatives (California), Chair
Michael Chertoff ’78, Secretary of Homeland Security, USA
William H. Goodhart, Lord Goodhart, Q.C. ’58, Parliament, House of Lords, United Kingdom
Philip B. Heymann ’60, James Barr Ames Professor or Law, HLS
Adam J. Szubin ’99, Director, Office of Foreign Assets Control, U.S. Treasury Department
Juan C. Zarate ’97, U.S. Deputy National Security Adviser for Combating Terrorism
The Smithsonian American Art Museum and National Portrait Gallery

Cocktails, Dinner and Private Viewing

The National Portrait Gallery portrays poets, presidents, visionaries and villains, actors and activist who speak history, while the American Art Museum tells the story through visual arts in a collection that spans over three centuries – works that are windows on the American experience.

Saturday, June 16, 2007

Harvard Law School Association Breakfast Meeting and Plenary Session

Diplomacy in the 21 st Century
Philip Lader ’71, former U.S. Ambassador to the Court of St. James
Roberto Dañino ’75, former Prime Minister of Peru; former Senior Vice President and General Counsel of The World Bank
Allan E. Gotlieb '52, Senior Advisor, Bennett Jones LLP (Canada); former Canadian Ambassador to the United States
Olara Otunnu ’78, President, LBL Foundation for Children; World’s Children’s Ombudsman; Former Under-Secretary-General, United Nations

The Impact of Foreign Law on Individual Jurisdictions
Hon. Stephen G. Breyer ’64, Associate Justice, United States Supreme Court, Co-Chair
Hon. Antonin G. Scalia ’60, Associate Justice, United States Supreme Court
Hon. Ricardo H. Hinojosa ’75, United States District Court, Southern District of Texas; Chairman, United States Sentencing Commission, Co-Chair

Luncheon at the United States Supreme Court
Greetings: Dean Elena Kagan ’86
Remarks: Hon. Ruth Bader Ginsburg '56-'58
Honored Guests:
Hon.Stephen G. Breyer ’64, Associate Justice
Hon. Ruth Bader Ginsburg ’56-’58, Associate Justice
Hon. Anthony M. Kennedy ’61, Associate Justice
Hon. Antonin Scalia '60, Associate Justice
Hon. David H. Souter ’66, Associate Justice

Walking Tour of the United States Capitol

An Evening at George Washington’s Mount Vernon Estate & Gardens

Ceremonial Hosts: The First Family of Virginia
Hon. Timothy M. Kaine ’83, Governor of Virginia; Anne Holton’83, First Lady of Virginia; A. Linwood Holton ’49, former Governor of Virginia; Virginia R. “Jinks” Holton, former First Lady of Virginia

Sunday June 17, 2007

Breakfast Reception at the Willard Hotel

Corcoran Gallery of Art
Modernism: Designing a New World 1914-1939
The exhibition explores the foundation and meaning of Modernism, and it contains some of the most seminal works of modern art, graphic and product design, and architecture produced in the first half of the 20th century. It traces the historic development of modern form through social, industrial, and political upheavals of the 1920s and 1930s. It investigates the role of the factory and mass production; the spiritual aspect of modern life; the period’s fascination with the healthy body and organic forms found in nature; and national identity.

Last modified: February 27, 2015

© 2015 The President and Fellows of Harvard College. All rights reserved.